DUI Accident Charges in Pennsylvania
Though getting a DUI in any state is strongly undesirable, being convicted of a DUI in Pennsylvania can open a much more challenging set of circumstances you may have to face. Pennsylvania is extremely harsh and resilient when it comes to drinking and driving laws, and if you are found guilty of such an act, you can face severe penalties. If you happen to be charged with long-term consequences, that can follow you on your record for numerous years down the road. If you happen to hurt someone else while drinking and driving, that will be additional penalties and charges as well.
If you have been charged with a DUI, the best thing you can do for yourself is find a specialized DUI lawyer who can help you through the process, review your case, and help minimize the potential aggressive ramifications of that action.
Charged with a DUI Accident in Pennsylvania
No matter what state you are in, there are going to be DUI accident charges in some degree or manner. In Pennsylvania, there are several different charges you can face that are related to impaired driving accidents. For example, if you caused an accident while intoxicated, you could either be charged with aggravated assault, which is a second-degree felony. Or, if someone dies in the accident, you could be charged with vehicular homicide charges. Even if you do not face either of those charges, you will at the very least be charged with simple assault along with reckless endangerment.
All the penalties for DUI accident conviction are pretty severe, some clearly being more punishing than others depending on the circumstances. If you happened to be convicted with DUI aggravated assault, you could potentially face up to 10 years in prison and be fined for up to $25K. If you killed someone, then that comes with a mandatory three-year prison sentence, a $25K fine for each person that died.
Keep in mind that DUI accident charges are not convictions. It is important that you do not plead guilty of your charges without consulting a DUI defense attorney first.
What to Do Next
It can be scary to be charged with a DUI offense, especially if this is the first time it has ever happened to you. You may be tempted to plead guilty because you were proven intoxicated, but that should not be your next step. What you need to do now is find a good lawyer who can thoroughly go through your case details and perhaps find fine details that the police neglected to factor in when it came to the initial collision. There could be other probable accident causes and if there is, it can significantly. In some cases, it could be found that you were not the cause of the accident at all, allowing your DUI accident charges to be dismissed.
Regardless of the situation, never go at it alone and have someone on your side every step of the way to get the best chance at getting a favorable outcome.