Pennsylvania Fake ID Penalties
Acquiring fake identification in Pennsylvania is prevalent mostly among people under the age of 21. A recent study shows that acquiring fake IDs are heavily linked with underage drinking and driving.
Fake IDs can sell from $50-$200. Sellers of counterfeit IDs receive over 10,000 inquiries per day, signaling the massive demand for fake IDs. College campuses often act as the base for these small fake ID operators.
Pennsylvania has enforced strict laws against using fake IDs. Possession of fake IDs in Pennsylvania can be charged with misdemeanor or felony.
The law states in Title 18 §6310.3 of the Pennsylvania Code of Laws that it is unlawful for individuals under 21 years of age to be in possession of any fictitious or fraudulently altered identification cards.
Following are the excerpts from the Pennsylvania Crimes Code of Laws:
“Possesses an identification card falsely identifying that person by name, age, date of birth or photograph as being 21 years of age or older or obtains or attempts to obtain liquor or malt or brewed beverages by using the identification card of another or by using an identification card that has not been lawfully issued to or in the name of that person who possesses the card.”
If a person happens to carry a false identification card, present a fake ID to a police offer, or use it to purchase alcohol, here are the penalties they will face.
Carrying Fake Identification Card in Pennsylvania
A person caught carrying a fake ID will be charged with a summary offense in Pennsylvania. A summary offense, also called a non-traffic citation, is considered a minor offense. The person faces up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $300. This type of criminal offense typically only results in a monetary kind of penalty instead of prison time.
For first-time violators, the court requires them to participate in community work and counseling. Once they complete the program, the court can also dismiss any fake ID charges, including jail time or fines.
However, previous charges of carrying false identification will result in graver charges. If the person has an existing record of carrying fake IDs and is under 21, they will most likely face a third-degree misdemeanor and can be fined up to $500. The police are also required to notify parents or guardians for committing multiple offenses.
Presenting False Identification to Authorities
When a civilian presents a fake ID to an authority figure, they can be immediately charged with a third-degree misdemeanor. A third-degree misdemeanor entails six months to a year in prison and a fake ID fine of up to $2,500 in Pennsylvania.
The penalties for possession of fake ID in Pennsylvania are harsh. So, if you’ve been charged with a false identification felony, it’s in your best interest to speak to a local criminal defense lawyer in Erie, PA.
Using Fake Identification
People below the legal drinking age commonly use fake IDs to purchase alcohol. Attempting to buy alcoholic drinks illegally can lead to a $500 fine. A subsequent violation has a fine of up to $1,000.
An individual under 21 may be arrested, charged, and sentenced for underage drinking through possession of alcohol, regardless of whether they had not consumed the liquor, essentially by being within the presence of it.
Furthermore, the offender must perform community service or participate in counseling. Completing the program in good faith can waive any pending charges. However, this option is only available to first-time offenders.
The authorities are also required to notify family and guardians of the misconduct.
Contact Panighetti Law Firm
Whether you are an adult or a minor, you should always seek assistance when facing criminal charges. Having a top-notch criminal defense lawyer by your side is advisable. Let’s discuss your options.